签证小百科

何为签证

签证是一种允许持有人合法进入他国的官方文件。签证通常是在护照上盖章或贴纸。签证种类多种多样,每种签证可使持有人在驻在国享有不同权利。

欲知更多信息,请阅读如何申请签证

何为旅游签证?

旅游签证持有人可前往国外,但只能从事旅游相关活动,且只能在预定时间内停留。持旅游签证者不能在当地打工或从事与旅游无关的活动。

何为工作签证?

工作签证颁发给有意在驻在国就业或从事商务活动的人。根据工作性质和停留时间,工作签证可分为几类。例如,持工作旅游签证者可在当地旅游期间,短暂打工。

何为商务签证?

商务签证持有人可在驻在国从事商务活动,且无需加入该国的劳务市场。例如,如果个人前往某国家与另一家公司进行业务往来,或参加商务会议,则需要商务签证。通常情况下,旅行者必须证明未从该国获得任何收入。

何为学生签证?

学生签证是一种非移民签证,适用于在东道国接受高等教育的学生。海外高中交换生通常须申请临时居留签证。

何为难民/庇护签证?

难民签证和庇护签证颁发给逃离迫害、战争、自然灾害以及生命受到威胁等情况的个人。

何为工作假期签证?

持工作假期签证者可在当地旅游期间,短暂打工。并非所有国家都提供工作旅游计划。澳大利亚的工作旅游计划最为热门。

何为配偶签证?

一对夫妻来自两个国家时,可申请配偶签证,赴两地团聚。

何为过境签证?

有时,旅行者需要申请过境签证,途经第三个国家,到达目的地国家。如果在一个国家中途停留超过数小时,通常需要过境签证。

何为电子签证?

电子签证是一种数字化签证,将所有信息储存在数据库中,而非直接签注或盖印在护照上。电子签证与个人护照号码关联。通常通过互联网申请电子签证。申请成功后,申请人可打印纸质签证,在旅行时出示。

移民签证与非移民签证

旅游签证可分为两类:移民签证和非移民签证。移民签证持有人可获得驻在国的永久居住权,而非移民签证持有人只能在境内短暂停留。

签证样式如何?

传统签证直接签注或盖印在护照上。如果签证签注在护照上,通常是一张小纸,附有姓名、护照号码、出生地点、旅行原因、有效期限。盖印的签证所含信息较少,通常仅包括目的地、签证有效期起始日期、签证有效期说明。

为何需要签证?

如果想前往某个国家,但该国与本国之间没有签证政策,则需要签证。

许多国家制定了签证政策和协议,允许本国公民自由往返,无需申请签证。例如,加拿大公民和美国公民往返两国,不需要持有签证,仅需有效旅行证件即可。但加拿大公民前往不丹时需要申请签证,因为两国之间未达成签证协议。

请浏览护照指数网,了解前往您的下一个目的地时是否需要申请签证。

何为签证政策?

一个国家的签证政策规定可入境或不可入境的人员。根据签证政策,一国的护照持有人可免签入境,而另一国的护照持有人需持签证入境。大部分的签证政策均为双边政策,即两国允许各自的公民免签往返的对方国家,但并非所有的情况均是如此。例如,加拿大护照持有人可免签前往格林纳达,但格林纳达公民必须申请签证,才能前往加拿大。

各国在制定签证政策时,并没有严格的规章制度。但还要考虑其他情况,如与他国的外交关系、非法移民史(如有)、费用、旅游因素等。

为何部分国家有签证限制?

签证限制的目的是检查和控制出入该国境内的旅行者流动情况,防止非法移民和其他犯罪活动。要求旅行者申请签证,可让相关机关审查潜在旅行者。例如,有些个人试图前往拥有更好经济利益的他国以留在当地非法工作。

何时需要签证?

何时需要签证,取决于您前往的目的地。如果本国与您打算前往的国家之间签订了签证协议,则您可能不需要提前申请签证。但如果本国与您打算前往的国家之间未达成签证协议,则必须在旅行前申请签证。

请浏览护照指数网,了解您所持护照可免签前往的国家。

Passport Visa page

签证申请费

如何申请签证?

使用首选搜索引擎,查找目的地国家政府移民官网。阅读签证申请要求等所有信息后,填写所需旅游签证申请表。可以电子文档形式提交申请表,也可通过邮件寄送申请表。如果目的地国家要求办理落地签,则无需提前申请旅游签证。在这种情况下,到达目的地国家之后,需要填写签证申请表,并支付申请费。请登陆相关官网,再次确认相关要求,或咨询是否需要携带护照尺寸的证件照。

签证的要求有哪些?

每个国家都有各自的签证申请要求。请务必登陆目的地国家相关政府官网,了解详情。一般要求如下:填写签证申请表,按要求提供护照以盖印签证,提供证件照以及其他材料,如航班行程单、酒店预定单或邀请函。

同样,许多国家也有关于签发签证的禁止事项。如果申请人出现以下情形,则拒绝向其签发签证:(1)有犯罪史;(2)属于危险分子;(3)有严重的健康问题;(4)有严重的财务问题等。

如果不能满足目的地国家的签证要求,申请人的签证申请极有可能被拒,且被拒绝入境。

申请旅游签证时,需要哪些证明材料?

向目的地国家大使馆提出签证申请时,除了签证申请表之外,还需要提交证明材料。申请签证时,一般情况下需要的材料如下:

  • 邀请函
  • 护照个人资料页复印件
  • 一至两张签证办事处指定尺寸的照片
  • 旅行期间的财务保障证明
  • 旅行保险
  • 机票
  • 旅行目的证明
  • 签证申请费

何为签证邀请函?

加拿大、美国等国要求申请人在申请旅游签证时附上邀请函。邀请函是邀请方发出的正式函件,邀请受邀人前往邀请方所在国家探望邀请方。邀请函可帮助旅游部门确定此次签证申请的性质确为短暂访问。欲知邀请函的更多详情,请登陆目的地国家政府官网。

面签指南

一旦填写好签证申请表,您要访问的国家可能会要求您进行面签。大部分签证申请无需面签即可通过或拒签,但签证官可能会要求面签。以下是面签时常问的问题:

  • 为什么想去X国?
  • 为什么在这个特定的时间到访
  • 您有犯罪记录吗?
  • 您是与其他人一起去吗?
  • 您要去拜访谁?
  • 您要在当地待多久?
  • 您要待在哪里?
  • 您订了机票吗?
  • 您为这次旅行购买保险了吗?
  • 您目前在职,是否就此次旅行向公司正常请假呢?
  • 旅行结束后,是否要回国?

办理签证的费用

每个国家办理签证的费用不同。如需了解相关费用,请登陆目的地国家政府移民官网。例如,美国的签证申请费用为160美元起

签证办理时长

每个国家处理签证申请的时间不同。请务必登陆目的地国家政府官网,了解签证申请办理效率。例如,俄罗斯办理赴加拿大的签证大约需要8天,而想前往印度的加拿大公民需要提前至少15天提交签证申请。

大使馆提供哪些签证服务?

大使馆通常提供签证申请服务、协助,提供最新的签证和旅行要求相关信息。可向目的地国家大使馆咨询旅行相关信息。

Passport index page 3

其他问题

可从签证限制指数中了解哪些内容?

与其说护照指数网关注签证限制情况,不如说是关注护照提供的可能性和自由度。护照比较工具可以让用户了解他们可免签前往的国家,并与其他护照进行比较。

可免签前往的国家

请浏览护照指数网,了解您所持护照可免签前往的国家。目前,阿联酋护照为世界上最强的护照,可免签前往175个国家。而阿富汗是旅游最受限的国家,仅可免签前往30个国家。

`

美国签证限制条件有哪些?

美国有若干会影响潜在旅行者能否获得旅游签证的签证限制条件。因健康、犯罪记录或其他安全缘由,可能会被拒签。例如,如果申请人患有严重传染病,或严重的身体或精神疾病,会造成安全威胁,则该申请人将会被拒绝进入美国。

请查看美国政府的全部限制条件。

免签入境、落地签入境与签证入境

免签入境是指无需旅游签证即可前往外国。在这种情况下,持有效护照即可出入。

落地签入境是指旅行者必须取得签证以便入境,但可以在到达目的地国家后再办理签证。旅行者无需提前申请旅游签证。

签证入境是指旅行者必须在出行前申请前往目的地国家的签证。

请浏览护照指数网,了解您所持护照可免签前往的国家。

持美国护照可免签前往哪些国家?

美国护照的免签分数为156分,这就表示美国护照持有人可免签前往156个国家。如需查看完整列表,请浏览护照指数网。

每年美国接受和拒绝的旅游签证有多少?

根据美国签证服务办事处的数据,美国在2015财年签发了10,891,745个非移民签证,拒签了3,121,950个非移民签证申请,即28.66%的非移民签证申请被拒。

持申根签证可前往哪些国家?

申根区含欧洲26个国家。持有任何一个申根区国家的签证,持有人可在申根区内自由旅行。申根区内的所有国家如下:

奥地利、德国、卢森堡、斯洛文尼亚、比利时、希腊、马耳他、西班牙、捷克共和国、匈牙利、荷兰、瑞典、丹麦、冰岛、挪威、瑞士、爱沙尼亚、意大利、波兰、列支敦斯登、芬兰、拉脱维亚、葡萄牙、法国、立陶宛、斯洛伐克。

世界上第一张签证的签发时间

最早的签证记录出现在《圣经·尼希米记》中,时间是公元前450年左右。一位先知获得波斯王亚达薛西颁发的“安全通行函”,用于保障他安全通行,前往犹大王国。

全球签证签发情况

据美国签证服务办事处统计,2010年至2015年期间,美国签发的非移民签证数量呈逐年攀升之势,年均增速为11%。非移民签证包括旅游签证、临时工作签证和学生签证。

 
 
 
 
 
 
Top

Everything You Need To Know About Visas

What Is a Visa?   |   What Is a Travel/Tourist Visa?   |   What Is a Work Visa?   |   What Is a Business Visa?   |   What Is a Student Visa?   |   What Is a Refugee/Asylum Visa?   |   What Is a Working Holiday Visa?   |   What Is a Spousal Visa?   |   What Is a Transit Visa?   |   What Is an eVisa?   |   Immigrant Vs. Nonimmigrant Visas   |   What Does a Visa Look Like?   |   Why Do I Need a Visa to Travel?   |   What Is a Visa Policy?   |   Why Do Certain Countries Have Visa Restrictions?   |   When Do I Need a Visa?   |   How Do I Apply for a Visa?   |   What Are the Requirements for a Visa?   |   What Are the Supporting Documents Required for Visitor Visas?   |   What Is an Invitation Letter for a Visa?   |   What to Expect During a Visa Interview?   |   What Are the Fees for Obtaining a Visa?   |   What Are Visa Processing Times?   |   What Visa Services Does an Embassy Offer?   |   What Can I Learn From the Visa Restrictions Index?   |   Which Countries Can I Travel to Visa-Free?   |   How Are Travel Visas Linked to My Passport?   |   Visa-Free Vs. Visa on Arrival Vs. Visa Required   |   What Are the US Visa Restrictions?   |   Which Countries Can I Visit Visa-Free With the US Passport?   |   How Many Visitor Visas Does the US Accept and Reject Each Year?   |   Which Countries Can I Visit With a Schengen Visa?   |   When Was the First Visa Ever Issued?   |   Global Visa Issuance Over Time


What Is a Visa?

A visa is an official document that allows the bearer to legally enter a foreign country. The visa is usually stamped or glued into the bearer’s passport. There are several different types of visas, each of which afford the bearer different rights in the host country.

Check out How Do I Apply for a Visa? for more information.

What Is a Travel/Tourist Visa?

Travel visas allow the bearer to enter a foreign country for touristic and leisure purposes only and stay for a predetermined amount of time. These visas do not entitle the holder to work or engage in any business activities in the host country.

What Is a Work Visa?

Work visas are required for individuals who wish to take on employment or engage in business activities in the host country. There are several types of work visas that depend on the nature of the work and length of stay. For example, working holiday visas allow individuals to temporarily take on employment while travelling through the country.

What Is a Business Visa?

A business visa allows the bearer to enter the host country and engage in business activities without joining that country’s labour market. For example, an individual may require a business visa if they are travelling to a country to do business with another company or if they are attending a business conference. The visitor typically must show that they are not receiving income from the country.

What Is a Student Visa?

A student visa is a type of nonimmigrant visa that allows the bearer to enrol at a postsecondary educational institution in the host country. High school foreign exchange students must typically obtain a visa for temporary residence.

What Is a Refugee/Asylum Visa?

Refugee visas and asylum visas can be granted to individuals fleeing persecution, war, natural disasters and other situations in which their life is at risk.

What Is a Working Holiday Visa?

Working holiday visas allow the bearer to undertake temporary employment in a country through which they are travelling. Not every country offers a working holiday program. Australia has the most popular such program.

What Is a Spousal Visa?

Spousal visas allow partners to visit each other when the couple does not hail from the same country.

What Is a Transit Visa?

Travellers may sometimes require transit visas in order to pass through a country that is not their destination country. Transit visas are typically required if you have a layover in a country of more than a few hours.

What Is an eVisa?

An eVisa, or electronic visa, is a digital visa that is stored in a database rather than stamped or glued into the bearer’s passport. The eVisa is linked to the individual’s passport number. Applications for eVisas are typically done over the Internet and the applicant will receive a paper document to present while travelling.

Immigrant Vs. Nonimmigrant Visas

Travel visas can be separated into two categories: immigrant and nonimmigrant. Immigrant visas allow the bearer to reside permanently in the host country, whereas nonimmigrant visas allow the bearer entry into the host country on a temporary basis.

What Does a Visa Look Like?

Traditional visas can either be stamped or glued into your passport. If your visa is glued into your passport, it is usually a small document that includes your name, passport number, place of birth, reason for travel and expiration date. Stamped visas typically have less information on them. They usually only have the destination and date from which the visa is valid and official instructions stating how many days the visa is valid for.

Why Do I Need a Visa to Travel?

Visas are necessary if you’d like to travel to a country that does not have a visa policy in place with your home country.

Many countries have visa policies and agreements that allow their citizens to travel freely between them without the need for a visa. For example, Canadians and Americans do not need visas in order to travel to each other’s countries, only valid travel documents. However, Canadians do need visas to travel to Bhutan, for example, since no visa agreement exists between the two nations.

Check on Passport Index to see if you need a visa to travel to your next destination.

What Is a Visa Policy?

A country’s visa policy is a rule that states who may or may not enter the country. The policy may allow passport holders of one country to enter visa-free but not the passport holders of another country. Most visa policies are bilateral, meaning that two countries will allow visa-free travel to each other’s citizens, but this is not always the case. For example, Canadian passport holders may travel to Grenada visa-free, but Grenadians must apply for a visa in order to travel to Canada.

There are no hard and fast rules for countries when determining visa policies. However, some typical considerations include diplomatic relations with the other country, the history, if any, of illegal immigration from the country, cost and tourism factors, and more.

Why Do Certain Countries Have Visa Restrictions?

Countries have visa restrictions in order to check and control the flow of visitors in and out of the country and to prevent illegal immigration and other criminal activities. Forcing travellers to apply for a visa allows the authorities to vet potential visitors. For example, individuals may attempt to travel to a country with better economic opportunities in order to work illegally there.

When Do I Need a Visa?

When you need a visa depends on where you’d like to go. If your home country has a visa agreement with the country to which you intend to travel, then you likely will not need to apply for a visa beforehand. However, if your home country does not have a visa agreement with your intended destination, then you must apply for a visa before travelling.

See our Passport Index to find out where you can travel visa-free with your passport.

Passport Visa page

Applying for a Visa

How Do I Apply for a Visa?

Using your preferred search engine, find the official government immigration website of the country you intend to visit. Once you’ve found and read all the information, including the visa application requirements, fill out the required travel visa application form. You may be able to send in the form electronically or you may be required to send it by mail. If your destination requires visa on arrival, then you don’t need to worry about applying for a travel visa beforehand. In this case, once you get to your destination you may be required to fill out a visa form and pay any applicable fees. Double check the requirements with the relevant website or consulate as you may need to bring a passport-sized photo as well.

What Are the Requirements for a Visa?

Each country has its own visa application requirements. Make sure to check with your destination country’s appropriate government website to find out. Requirements typically include filling out the visa application form, providing your passport for stamping if required, a photograph, and additional documents such as your flight itinerary, hotel booking or letter of invitation.

Many countries also have inadmissibility guidelines when it comes to issuing visas. Potential visitors may be deemed inadmissible if, for example, they have a criminal history, are a security risk, have a serious health problem, have serious financial problems and more.

If you do not meet the visa requirements for the country you intend to visit it is highly likely that your visa application will be denied and you will not be allowed entry into the country.

What Are the Supporting Documents Required for Visitor Visas?

When filing your visa application with the embassy of the country you intend to visit, you will be asked to include supporting documents with the main visa application. The following is a list of commonly requested supporting documents:

  • Letter of invitation.
  • A photocopy of the information page of your passport.
  • One or two photographs of a specific size determined by the visa office.
  • Proof of financial support during the trip.
  • Travel insurance.
  • Airplane tickets.
  • Proof of purpose of travel.
  • Visa application fees.

What Is an Invitation Letter for a Visa?

Some countries, such as Canada and the United States, may require the visitor to include a letter of invitation with their travel visa application. A letter of invitation is a formal letter from the person you intend to visit stating that they are inviting you to visit them in that country. Invitation letters help travel authorities vet potential visitors by making sure that a temporary visit is indeed the true nature of the visa request. Check with your intended destination’s government website for details on what needs to be included in a such a letter.

What to Expect During a Visa Interview?

Once you have filed your visa application, you may be requested to submit to a visa interview by the country you intend to visit. Most visa applications are approved or denied without the need for an interview, but the visa officer may request one. The following are common questions you may be asked during a visa interview:

  • Why do you want to travel to X country?
  • Why do you want to visit at this specific time?
  • Do you have a criminal record?
  • Are you travelling with someone else?
  • Who will you be visiting?
  • How long will you stay?
  • Where will you stay?
  • Have you booked airline tickets?
  • Do you have health insurance for this trip?
  • If you are currently employed, do you have proper leave from your workplace for the duration of the trip?
  • Will you return to your home country after your visit?

What Are the Fees for Obtaining a Visa?

Each country has different fees for obtaining a visa. Check with your intended destination’s government immigration website to find out the costs. For example, visa application fees for visas to the U.S. start at US$160.

What Are Visa Processing Times?

Every country processes visa applications at a different rate. Make sure to check the government website of the country you intend to visit to find out how fast they process visa applications. For example, visa applications from Russia to visit Canada take approximately 8 days to process, while Canadians looking to travel to India are advised to submit visa applications at least 15 days in advance.

What Visa Services Does an Embassy Offer?

Embassies typically offer visa application services, assistance and up-to-date information regarding visa and travel requirements. It’s always a good idea to check the embassy of your destination country to learn about travelling there.

Passport index page 3

Other Questions

What Can I Learn From the Visa Restrictions Index?

Passport Index focuses not on the visa restrictions but rather on the possibilities and freedom that passports offer. The Passport Compare tool allows users to see which countries they can visit visa-free and compare their passport against others.

Which Countries Can I Travel to Visa-Free?

Check out Passport Index to find out where you can travel visa-free with your current passport. Currently Germany has the most visa-free access with 158 countries, while Afghanistan has the least access with visa-free travel to only 23 countries.

What Are the US Visa Restrictions?

The United States has several visa restrictions that affect whether a potential visitor is granted a tourist visa. Visa applications may be denied on the grounds of health, a criminal record or other security reasons. For example, anyone with a significant communicable disease or a physical or mental health disorder that poses a safety threat will not be allowed entry into the US.

See the United States government’s full list of restrictions.

Visa-Free Vs. Visa on Arrival Vs. Visa Required

Visa-free refers to the ability to travel to a foreign country without the need for a travel visa. In such a case only a valid passport is required for entry and exit purposes.

Visa on arrival means that travellers must obtain a visa in order to enter the destination country, but it can be obtained upon arrival. Visitors do not need to apply for a travel visa beforehand.

Visa required means that travellers must apply for a visa to the country before actually travelling there.

See our Passport Index to find out where you can travel visa-free with your passport.

Which Countries Can I Visit Visa-Free With the US Passport?

The U.S. passport has a visa-free score of 156, meaning holders can visit 156 countries without the need for a travel visa. See our Passport Index for the complete list.

How Many Visitor Visas Does the US Accept and Reject Each Year?

According to the US Office of Visa Services, the US issued 10,891,745 nonimmigrant visas in the 2015 fiscal year and refused 3,121,950 nonimmigrant visas in the same period. This means that 28.66% of nonimmigrant visa requests were denied.

Which Countries Can I Visit With a Schengen Visa?

The Schengen zone comprises 26 countries in Europe. A Schengen visa allows the bearer to enter one Schengen country and then travel freely throughout the rest of the zone. The following is the list of all Schengen member states:

Austria, Germany, Luxembourg, Slovenia, Belgium, Greece, Malta, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary, Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Estonia, Italy, Poland, Liechtenstein, Finland, Latvia, Portugal, France, Lithuania, Slovakia.

When Was the First Visa Ever Issued?

The first mention of what we would think of as a visa is in the Bible’s book of Nehemiah from approximately 450 BC. A prophet was given a “safe conduct” letter from the Persian king Artaxerxes asking that he be granted safe passage to Judah.

Global Visa Issuance Over Time

According to the US Office of Visa Services, from 2010-2015 the US issued an increasing number of nonimmigrant visas each year, with an average increase of 11% per year. Nonimmigrant visas include tourism visas, temporary worker visas and student visas.

 
 
 

Notify us of any errors or omissions.

 
 
 
Top