护照小百科

What is a Passport

何为护照?   |   何为因公护照?   |   何为外交护照?   |   何为紧急护照?   |   何为团体护照?   |   何为家庭护照?   |   何为电子护照?   |   为何需要护照?   |   国内航班需要护照吗?   |   护照可以作为身份证件吗?   |   护照外观样式   |   持有护照,可到哪些地方旅行?   |   旅行期间,护照的有效期是多长?   |   护照上需要留有多少空白签证页?   |   儿童需要护照吗?   |   如果我进行了更名,需要重新申请护照吗?   |   护照丢失或被偷,怎么办?   |   可以持破损的护照旅行吗?   |   护照会被吊销吗?   |   护照有哪些安全特征?   |   护照是如何制作的?   |   护照含地址信息吗?   |   应当在护照上签名吗?   |   如何处理已故家属的护照?   |   美国公民前往巴哈马群岛需要护照吗?   |   哪一国的护照全球最棒?   |   一人可持有多少本护照?   |   如何申请护照?   |   何为护照申请费?   |   申请护照需要准备哪些材料?   |   护照办理时长是多久?   |   如何快速申领护照?   |   更换护照时,要归还旧护照吗?   |   更换护照时,护照号码会变吗?   |   护照有效期是多长?护照会过期吗?   |   护照申请会被拒吗?   |   何时签发第一本护照?


何为护照?

护照是一个国家的政府发放给本国公民的一种旅行证件,用于持有人在外国旅行时证明其身份与国籍。

护照是一本小册子,通常含有持照人的姓名、出生地、出生日期、签发日期、有效期、护照编号、照片和签名。根据持照人在本国的身份状况,护照大致可归为几类。

何为因公护照?

因公护照或公务护照是护照的一种,主要颁发给政府职员。其目的是让目的地国家的公职人员知晓持有人以公务身份代表其国家进入目的地国家。因公护照持有人通常不被授予任何特权。

何为外交护照?

外交护照颁发给代表本国出使外国执行公务的外交人员。

由政府任命的外交人员在他国从事公务并维持与其他国家的政治、经济和社交关系。通常外交护照持有人享有一定特权和豁免,如豁免驻在国起诉和税收等。

何为紧急护照?

紧急护照又称之为临时护照。当持照人护照丢失或被盗,且来不及申请新护照时,可向其颁发紧急护照。例如,如果您不慎将护照遗失在飞机上,因此无法登上转接航班,您可以致电大使馆,申请紧急单程护照回国。

何为团体护照?

团体护照颁给团体,如集体出国的学生团体。但通常情况下,鼓励儿童持个人护照出行。

何为家庭护照?

家庭护照颁发给家庭中其中一名成员,但家庭中所有成员均可持该护照出国旅行。不过,该护照的持照人也必须同行。目前极少颁发家庭护照。

何为电子护照?

电子护照是一种封面内置电子芯片的护照。芯片内储存护照持有人的个人信息,进一步提升护照的安全性,打击护照伪造等行为。

为何需要护照?

如果想出国旅行,护照是必备证件,因为护照能证明持有人的身份和国籍。护照持有人在他国可安全通行,得到保护。

通常情况下,如果乘坐飞机出国旅行,在机场必须多次出示护照。如果驾车出国旅行,在边境也必须出示护照。此外,还需要办理目的地国家的签证。

国内航班需要护照吗?

不需要。通常情况下,乘坐国内航班不必出示护照,可持由政府签发的其他含相片的身份证件登机。任何情况下,请务必阅读本国的旅行条例,了解国内外旅行所需的证件材料。

护照可以作为身份证件吗?


可以。在机场外,护照可作为身份证件。但不建议日常或夜间出行时携带护照,因为护照丢失后,补办新护照既费时又费钱。

护照外观样式

根据国际民用航空组织Doc 9303号文件《机读旅行证件》,护照为第3类旅行证件,其样式、排版、内容必须符合特定规范。

第3类旅行证件为小本样式,至少含八页和一页资料页。资料页上的信息必须写入特定位置和区域中,确保能正确读取。此外,国际民用航空组织(ICAO)规定了护照的多项安全特征,防止伪造。

持有护照,可到哪些地方旅行?

持有护照并不能保证一定能到您想去的国家旅行。但是,护照是出国旅行必不可少的证件。出国旅行,需要提前申请旅游签证,以便得到目的地国家的入境许可。

出游之前,请务必访问护照指数网,了解持有当前护照可免签前往旅行的国家数量,或哪些国家在出发前需要先申请签证。

旅行期间,护照的有效期是多长?

护照一般要保持自旅行之日起6个月以上的有效期。若旅行期间,护照可能出现有效期期满的情况,则目的地国家可能会拒绝您入境。

各国对护照有效期的规定不尽相同。出行之前,请务必登陆目的地国家的政府官网,查看相关信息。

护照上需要留有多少空白签证页?

通常,护照需预留2至4页空白签证页,便于出国旅行。如果护照上没有空间粘贴签证,航空公司可能不会让您登机,或目的地国家可能会拒绝您的入境请求。

针对所需空白签证页的数量,各国有不同的入境要求。出行之前,请务必登陆目的地国家的政府官网,查看相关信息。

儿童需要护照吗?

是的,儿童和婴儿也需要护照。

如果我进行了更名,需要重新申请护照吗?

需要。如果您正式更名,请必须重新办理新护照。护照是能够准确证实您身份的重要旅行证件。

因更名重新办理新护照时,请务必提供更名的官方证明文件,如结婚证。

护照丢失或被偷,怎么办?

如果护照丢失或被偷,必须立刻向相关机构备案挂失。请联系当地警局和本国护照签发机关或大使馆,报告相关情况。挂失之后,您的护照将失效,确保不会被他人冒用。相关机构会向您签发临时护照,确保您能顺利回国。之后,您必须重新办理护照。

可以持破损的护照旅行吗?

可能不行。如护照有破损情况,最好是重新办理护照。如果在目的地边境安检时出示破损护照,极有可能会被拒绝入境。

加拿大政府表示,如果以任何方式更改护照,且无法识别持有人的信息,则该护照被视为破损。破损类型包括水浸、受潮、撕裂、乱涂乱画。

护照为国家证件,应妥善保管。

护照会被吊销吗?

会。护照被吊销可能有几种原因:(1)不具有本国国籍;(2)属于刑事案件被告人或者犯罪嫌疑人;(3)申请护照时弄虚作假。如果具备充分理由,护照签发机构有权拒绝签发护照或宣布护照作废。

护照有哪些安全特征?

根据国际民用航空组织Doc 9303号文件《机读旅行证件》,护照须具备一定安全特征,防止伪造等情况。

部分安全特征如下:紫外光下可识别的全息图、含持有人个人信息的电子芯片、不同光源和防扫描模式下改变颜色的光变油墨。

护照签发机关可采用多种安全特征,这样便很难伪造护照。

护照是如何制作的?

护照由护照印刷公司制作。这些公司保证按国际民用航空组织Doc 9303号文件《机读旅行证件》中的标准,统一制作护照。Doc 9303号文件规定了护照的制作标准、护照所需的安全特征,以便防止伪造情况。

采用安全缝制技术,将特殊纸张装订到一起,从而制作出护照。护照内含多张记录旅行的空白签证页以及个人资料页。个人资料页包括照片、个人信息,某些情况下还包括数字签名。护照还可能包含全息图、特殊字体和电子芯片。护照各部分均嵌入不同安全特征。

护照含地址信息吗?


不含,护照上未显示地址信息。护照个人资料页仅包括姓名、护照号码、国籍、出生日期、出生地点、性别、护照签发日期和有效期。

应当在护照上签名吗?

应当。一般护照都有签名页,您可以在相应位置处签名。部分护照的个人资料页上包含电子签名。请着重注意,只能在指定页面的相应位置签名。若在护照上乱涂乱画,护照将会失效。

如何处理已故家属的护照?

如果持有已故家属的护照,请务必登陆政府官网,了解相关程序,将护照归还政府。

如果该护照仍有效,尚未过期,必须归还至相关机关。但如果该护照已过期,则不必归还。

美国公民前往巴哈马群岛需要护照吗?

需要。美国公民前往巴哈马群岛时必须持有有效护照,返回美国时也需要出示护照。

哪一国的护照全球最棒?

根据护照指数网的数据,德国护照是世界上最强大的护照。持德国护照,可免签前往125个国家,可通过落地签前往34个国家,其免签总分数为159分。

一个人可持有多少本护照?

对于一个人可持护照的数量,并没有特别限定。但一国的国籍法中可能会对双重国籍有所规定。部分国家不允许本国公民拥有两本或多本护照,要求其公民必须放弃当前国籍,才能加入新国籍。其他国家允许公民拥有双重或多重国籍,但条件各不相同。例如,如果两个国家因爆发战争而断交,您支持其中一方对抗另一方,则您所持的另一国护照将被吊销。

Passport Visa page

护照申请

如何申请护照?

每个国家都有各自的护照申请流程。请登陆本国政府官网,查看护照申请说明。可前往相应政府机构申请,也可在线申请。

通常需要填写护照申请表,提供身份和公民证明,提交办理护照所需的照片,在申请表上填写两名联系人,然后支付申请费用。

请务必确保正确、真实填写申请表,否则申请有可能被拒。

申请护照需要准备哪些材料?

申请护照时,必须提供身份和公民证明材料。

例如,申请加拿大护照时,您必须提供出生证原件等可证明您加拿大公民身份的材料以及诸如驾照等其他可证明身份的证件、两张相同的护照用证件照,以及有效的加拿大旅行证件。

每个国家都有各自的护照申请要求。请务必登录本国政府官网,了解申请护照所需的相关材料。

护照办理时长是多久?

不同国家的护照办理时长不同。例如,加拿大护照在申请成功后,10至20天即可拿到,而英国护照需要三至六周时间。

请登录本国政府官网,查看提交申请后领取护照的时长。如果急需领取护照,则需要支付加急费。

如何快速申领护照?

如果查看本国护照办理时长后,您需要在更短时间内获得护照,可以支付加急服务手续费。

例如,支付110加元,次日便可领取加拿大护照。请登录本国政府官网查看加急服务费。

更换护照时,要归还旧护照吗?

应当归还旧护照,或旧护照由本国政府护照签发机关安全销毁。通常情况下,归还的旧护照有破损情况,如在护照上打孔,令护照失效。如果旧护照中还有有效的入境签证,则会将护照归还给持有人。

更换护照时,护照号码会变吗?

会。新护照号码与旧护照号码不同。如果曾使用旧护照申请证件,必须持新护照更新相关申请信息。

护照有效期是多长?护照会过期吗?

护照的有效期通常为5年至10年,不同国家有不同的规定。有效期满之后,护照会失效。旅行时,确保护照保持自旅行之日起六个月以上的有效期。否则,可能会被目的地国家拒绝入境。

护照申请是否可能被拒?

是。如果发生以下情形之一,一国的护照签发机关可拒绝向申请人签发护照:(1)提供虚假申请信息;(2)非该国公民;(3)被指控犯罪。造成护照申请被拒的原因有很多。请务必登录本国政府官网,查看相关详情。

世界上第一本护照的签发时间

护照是一种极为重要的证件,其历史可追溯到圣经时代。当时,人们可获颁安全通行证,凭其要求外国统治者安全放行。最早的护照记录出现在《圣经·尼希米记》中,时间是公元前450年左右。

13世纪时,马可·波罗的父亲获得了忽必烈颁发的安全通行证,成为获得此证的第一个欧洲人。忽必烈授予他安全通行权,可进入整个蒙古帝国。

早在1414年亨利五世统治期间,英格兰已有安全通行证的相关记载。亨利五世统治期间,设有专门的机构,向任何人,甚至是外国人签发安全通行证。1540年,在英格兰旅行证件的签发已得到规范,由枢密院管理。当时已开始使用“护照”一词。但当时,护照还不是出国旅行的必备证件,大部分情况下是用作身份证件。

20世纪初期,旅行和身份正式挂钩。根据《1914年英国国籍和外国人身份法案》,制作了第一本现代英国护照。1920年,国际联盟采纳了标准护照样式。

 
 
 
 
 
 
Top

Everything You Need To Know About Passports

What is a Passport

What Is a Passport?   |   What Is an Official Passport?   |   What Is a Diplomatic Passport?   |   What Is an Emergency Passport?   |   What Is a Collective Passport?   |   What Is a Family Passport?   |   What Is an ePassport?   |   Why Do I Need a Passport?   |   Do I Need a Passport for Domestic Flights?   |   Can I Use My Passport as My ID?   |   What Does a Passport Look Like?   |   Where Can I Travel With a Passport?   |   For How Long Must a Passport Be Valid When I Travel?   |   How Many Blank Visa Pages Do I Need in My Passport to Travel?   |   Do Children Require Passports?   |   Do I Need a New Passport If I Change My Name?   |   What Should I Do If My Passport Is Lost or Stolen?   |   Can I Travel With a Damaged Passport?   |   Can My Passport Be Revoked?   |   What Kinds of Security Features Do Passports Have?   |   How Are Passports Made?   |   Do Passports Include Addresses?   |   Should I Sign My Passport?   |   What Do I Do With the Passport of a Deceased Family Member?   |   Do US Citizens Need a Passport to Visit the Bahamas?   |   Which Passport Is the Best in the World?   |   What Is the Passport Application Fee?   |   How Can I Apply for a Passport?   |   How Many Passports Can One Person Have?   |   What Documents Do I Need for My Passport Application?   |   How Long Does it Take to Get a New Passport?   |   How Can I Get a Passport Quickly?   |   When Renewing My Passport, Will My Old Passport Be Returned to Me?   |   Does My Passport Number Change When I Renew My Passport?   |   For How Long Is My Passport Valid?/Can My Passport Expire?   |   Can My Passport Application Be Refused?   |   When Was the First Passport Issued?


What Is a Passport?

A passport is a travel document issued by a country’s government to its citizens that verifies the identity and nationality of the holder for the purpose of international travel.

Passports are small booklets that typically contain the bearer’s name, place of birth, date of birth, the date of issue, date of expiry, passport number, photo and signature. There are several types of passports depending on the status of the bearer in their home country.

What Is an Official Passport?

An official passport, or service passport, is a type of passport that is issued to government employees. Its purpose is to let officials in the destination country know that the bearer is entering the country on official business, representing their country in an official capacity. Holders of official passports are not typically granted any special privileges.

What Is a Diplomatic Passport?

A diplomatic passport is granted to diplomats who are travelling for official business and representing their home country abroad.

Diplomats are appointed by the government to conduct official business abroad and maintain political, economic and social relations with other countries. Their passports typically grant them certain privileges and immunities, such as exemption from prosecution and taxes in the host country.

What Is an Emergency Passport?

An emergency passport, or temporary passport, is issued when you’ve lost your passport or had it stolen and you don’t have time to apply for a new one. For example, if you left your passport on the plane by accident and therefore cannot board your connecting flight, you may call your embassy and be issued an emergency one-way passport that will get you home.

What Is a Collective Passport?

A collective passport may be issued to a group, such as schoolchildren, travelling abroad together. However, children are typically encouraged to travel on their own passports.

What Is a Family Passport?

Family passports are issued to one member of the family but may be used for all family members for travelling purposes. However, the official passport bearer must be travelling as well. Family passports are quite rare these days.

What Is an ePassport?

An epassport, or electronic passport, is a regular passport booklet that contains an electronic chip in the cover. This chip contains the passport bearer’s information and provides an extra layer of security against passport fraud.

Why Do I Need a Passport?

Passports are necessary if you’d like to travel abroad as they verify your identity and nationality. They grant the bearer safe passage and protection in a foreign land.

You typically must present your passport several times at the airport if you are flying, and at the border if you are travelling by car. Additionally, you may also need a visa in order to enter your destination country.

Do I Need a Passport for Domestic Flights?

No. Typically you do not need a passport for domestic flights as other government-issued photo identification is acceptable. However, be sure to check your country’s travel regulations to find out what documents you need for domestic and international travel.

Can I Use My Passport as My ID?


Yes. You can use your passport as identification outside the airport. However, it is not recommended to carry around your passport on a daily basis or for a night out, as replacing a lost passport can be costly and time-consuming.

What Does a Passport Look Like?

According to the International Civil Aviation Organization’s Doc 9303 “Machine Readable Travel Documents,” passports are size 3 travel documents that must follow specific regulations for their construction, layout and contents.

Size 3 travel documents must take the form of a booklet with at least eight pages and a data page. The information on the data page must be in specific locations and zones that allow it to be electronically read. In addition, the ICAO mandates various security features on passports to prevent counterfeiting and fraud.

Where Can I Travel With a Passport?

Possession of a passport doesn’t necessarily guarantee entry into the country you’d like to visit. However, passports are necessary for international travel. You may need to apply for a travel visa beforehand in order to be allowed entry into your destination country.

Before embarking on your journey, make sure to visit Passport Index to find out how many countries you can travel to visa-free with your passport and which countries require you to apply for a visa first.

For How Long Must a Passport Be Valid When I Travel?

Passports must usually be valid for at least six months from the start of your travel date. Your destination country may not let you enter if there is a risk that your passport will expire while you are travelling.

Each country has different requirements for how long your passport must be valid. Be sure to check with your destination country’s government website before embarking on your journey.

How Many Blank Visa Pages Do I Need in My Passport to Travel?

Passports must typically have two to four blank visa pages for international travel. The airline may not let you board or your destination country may not let you enter if there is no space for the entrance visa to be stamped into your passport.

Each country has different entry requirements for the number of blank visa pages required. Be sure to check with your destination country’s government website before starting your travels.

Do Children Require Passports?

Yes, children and babies require passports.

Do I Need a New Passport If I Change My Name?

Yes. If you have officially changed your given name or surname then you must apply for a new passport. It is important that your travel documents accurately reflect your identity.

When applying for a new passport due to a name change make sure to include official proof, such as a marriage certificate, of the name change.

What Should I Do If My Passport Is Lost or Stolen?

If you lose your passport or it is stolen you must report it to the authorities immediately. Contact the local police as well as your country’s passport authorities or embassy to report what happened. Your passport will invalidated to ensure that it cannot be used fraudulently and you may be issued a temporary passport with which you can travel home. You must then apply for a new passport.

Can I Travel With a Damaged Passport?

Probably not. If your passport is damaged in any way your best bet is to apply for a new one. It is possible and highly likely that the border security at your destination will refuse you entry to the country if you present them a damaged passport.

According to the government of Canada a passport is considered damaged if it appears to have been altered in any way and if identifying the bearer is hindered in any way. Types of damage include exposure to water and humidity, tears, and unauthorized markings.

Passports are official documents and should be taken care of at all times.

Can My Passport Be Revoked?

Yes. Your passport may be revoked for several reasons, such as if you lose your citizenship, if you have been charged with a crime, or if you provided false information of your passport application. The passport-issuing authority reserves the right to refuse or revoke your passport if they feel they have sufficient grounds for doing so.  

What Kinds of Security Features Do Passports Have?

According to the International Civil Aviation Organization’s Doc 9303 “Machine Readable Travel Documents,” passports must have certain security features to prevent counterfeiting and fraud.

Some of the security features include holograms that light up under UV light, an electronic chip with the bearer’s information, optically variable ink, which changes colour under different light sources and anti-scan patterns.

Passport-issuing authorities are encouraged to use a variety of security features in order to make it as difficult as possible to forge their passports.

How Are Passports Made?

Passports are made by passport-printing companies. These companies ensure that all passports follow the standards set out by the International Civil Aviation Organization’s Doc 9303 “Machine Readable Travel Documents”. Doc 9303 sets the standard for how passports should be made and what kinds of security features they should include in order to avoid attack.

Passports are made with special paper bound together using secure sewing technology. Passport booklets include several empty visa pages, ready to document your travels, as well as a biodata page that features your photograph, personal information, and in some cases, a digital copy of your signature. They may also include holograms, special font types, and an electronic chip. Each part of the passport is built with various security features.

Do Passports Include Addresses?


No. Passports do not include your address. Passport data pages, or biodata pages, only include your name, passport number, nationality, date and place of birth, your sex, and the passport’s date of issue and date of expiry.

Should I Sign My Passport?

Yes. Passports typically have a signature page that tell you exactly where you need to sign it. Some passports may also include a digital copy of your signature on the biodata page. It is important that you only sign your passport in the appropriate space on the designated page. Marking up your passport in any other way will invalidate it.

What Do I Do With the Passport of a Deceased Family Member?

If you are in possession of the passport of a deceased family member be sure to check your government’s website for the proper procedures for returning it to the government.

Typically if the passport is still valid, as in it has not yet passed the expiry date, the passport must be returned to the proper authorities. However, if the the passport has already expired it may not need to be returned.

Do US Citizens Need a Passport to Visit the Bahamas?

Yes. US citizens must have a valid passport when travelling to the Bahamas as it is required for re-entry into the US.

Which Passport Is the Best in the World?

According to the Passport Index, the German passport is the strongest in the world as it allows visa-free travel to 125 countries and visa-on-arrival travel to 34, for a total visa-free score of 159 countries.

How Many Passports Can One Person Have?

There is no real limit on how many passports a single individual can have. However, the citizenship laws of your home country may include provision about dual citizenship. Some countries do not allow their citizens to hold dual or multiple passports and require them to give up their current nationality for a new one. Other countries do allow dual or multiple citizenship with varying conditions. For example, if both countries end up in a war against each other, your passport for one may be revoked if you take up arms against it.

Passport Visa page

Applying for a Passport

How Can I Apply for a Passport?

Each country has its own process for passport applications. Check your country’s government website for all the instructions on obtaining a passport. You may have to apply in person at a government office or your may be able to apply online.

Typically you will have to fill out a passport application form, provide proof of your identity and citizenship, provide passport-sized photos, list two references on the application form and pay the application fee.

It is extremely important to make sure you fill out the application form correctly and truthfully as your request may be denied otherwise.

What Documents Do I Need for My Passport Application?

When applying for a passport you must provide documents supporting your identity and citizenship.

For example, for the Canadian passport application supporting documents must include proof of Canadian citizenship, such as an original birth certificate, as well as a second proof of identity, such as a driver’s license, two identical passport photos and a valid Canadian travel document.

Each country has its own passport application requirements. Be sure to check your government’s website for the relevant list of accepted supporting documents.

How Long Does it Take to Get a New Passport?

Time to passport varies between countries. For example, it can take between 10 and 20 days to receive the Canadian passport after successful application, and three to six weeks to receive the British passport after applying.

Check your country’s government website to find out how long it will take to receive a new passport once you’ve filed your application. If you need it more urgently you may have to pay a rush fee.

How Can I Get a Passport Quickly?

If you’ve checked your government’s passport processing times and discover you need your passport quicker you may be able to pay an extra fee for expedited service.

For example, you can receive the Canadian passport the next day by paying the CA$110 fee. Be sure to check with your government’s website to find out the fee for urgent service.

When Renewing My Passport, Will My Old Passport Be Returned to Me?

Your old passport may be returned to you or it may be securely destroyed by your government’s passport-issuing authority. Typically if your old passport is returned to you it will be returned in a damaged form to invalidate it, for example with a hole through the booklet. If you have an entry visa that is still valid in your old passport, then it will be returned to you.

Does My Passport Number Change When I Renew My Passport?

Yes. When you receive a new passport it will feature a different number than your previous passport. If you have applied for any official documents using your old passport, you may have to update that application with your new passport.

For How Long Is My Passport Valid?/Can My Passport Expire?

Passports are usually valid for five years or ten years, depending on the country, after which they become invalid for travel. When travelling make sure your passport is still valid for at least six months from the start of your travel date, otherwise you may be refused entry into your destination country.

Can My Passport Application Be Refused?

Yes. The passport-issuing authorities of your country may refuse to issue you a passport if, for example, you provided false information on your application, you are not a citizen of the country, or if you have been charged with a crime. There are many reasons why your passport application may be refused. Be sure to check your government’s passport website to find out the relevant details.

When Was the First Passport Issued?

Passports are an invaluable document dating back to Biblical times when individuals could be granted safe conduct letters requesting that the governors of foreign lands grant them safe passage. The first mention of a passport is in the Bible's book of Nehemiah from approximately 450 BC.

In the 13th century Marco Polo’s father became the first European to receive safe conduct from Kublai Khan, granting him safe passage and access to the entire Mongol Empire.

Mentions of safe conduct appeared in England as early as 1414 under King Henry V, who had the authority to grant safe conduct to anyone, even foreigners. By 1540 in England the granting of travelling papers became normalized under the Privy Council. The term passport was already in use at this time. However, they were not necessarily required for international travel, being mostly used as identity documents.

Travelling and identity were finally officially merged in the early 20th century. The British Nationality and Status Aliens Act of 1914 produced the first modern British passport. By 1920 the League of Nations had adopted a standard passport format.

 
 
 

Notify us of any errors or omissions.

 
 
 
Top